Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joef329

Soil PH vs Blueberries

JoeF329
10 years ago

I just mixed Peat, Compose, Sand with Scotts Topsoil added 1 Tbs of sulfur, added water and got a
reading of 7. What do I do to get PH down to 5 ? Do I reduce the PH in my water prior to watering my blueberries or what. I feel that I'm really chasing my tail

Comments (5)

• lawanddisorder
    10 years ago

I'm no expert, but I was having the same problems and I think mine were resolved by two things:

1. It took a while for the acidifier I used to break down and soak into the rest of the soil before I got a uniform ph drop, and

2. I stopped watering with the hose water, and use only rain water.

If you can't save and use rain water, then you should definitely add something to lower the ph. I don't have to worry about it, so I cant provide much more detail than that. If you do a search on this forum with the term, "bicarbonate" you will find plenty of information and a few heated debates

• Bradybb WA-Zone8
    10 years ago

Hi Joe,
    Are these in containers or in the ground?I'm guessing it's the pH of the water that's causing the unwanted reading.Probably the next step is to measure it.
    Personally,I only use Pine/Fir bark mulch and Peat moss at about 60/40 whether in a pot or ground.
    The Sulfur could take up to a year to work.I also use Sulfuric acid(battery acid)to reduce pH. Brady

• bamboo_rabbit
    10 years ago

Two very good responses. It does not matter what soil you use if your water is high in bicarbonates it will dictate your soils PH.

• ericwi
    10 years ago