Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marc00

Fruit Trees For Boston

marc00
15 years ago

Hi All,

I'm looking for opinions on the best fruit trees to plant in the Boston area. I'm new to fruit trees and I would like to plant one for each of my two kids. Fruit production and hardiness are the primary considerations. I live close to the coast, probably a warm zone 6 give or take a few micro climates! Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Marc

Comments (7)

• turtleman49
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Theres hundereds of types you can have there.. so let me ask you this..

What type of fruit do you and your kids like?

I'll make you a list with the rootstocks that are best for your area

• theaceofspades
    15 years ago

marc, Asian Pears are the easiest best fruit tree to grow for kids. You can grow Asians WITHOUT SPRAY whereas you would need 5 sprays for peaches, plums, apricots, cherries. Pears don't get borers or Japanese beatles. Squirels and birds don't bother my Asians but totally ruin the apricots, plums and peaches. Asians pears store for months while plums apricots peaches just a week or two. Unlike european pears and most apples, asian pears don't need storage to obtain full flavor, you just pick asians off the tree to enjoy. I have Fuji apples that are among the best variety in the world but I prefer asian pears. Fuji's are delicious complex tangy sweet orangey flesh and store for months. Asians pears are crisp juicy sweet mild butterscotch non filling refreshing so I eat three at a time.

• glenn_russell
    15 years ago

Hi Marc-
    Welcome to the Fruit and Orchard forum. I like the idea of Asian Pears enough that Im planting one myself this year.