Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bullet08_gw

Hardy Kiwi in a container?

bullet08
11 years ago

i'm new to hardy kiwi. i just got 4 very very small plants from hirt's garden. they are very small, but healthy. i have anna female, meader male, and arctic beauty male and female.

i have read that hardy kiwi needs to use trellis and plant in ground.

however, if there are any possible way to grow them in continer, i would rather grow them in container. maybe in 20 gal container with support and round ring on top to have the vain drapped over the side. is that possible? i'm not looking for big crop. i just want enough to taste.

i'm more into figs and have too many fig trees to care for. but i want to try kiwi in small scale.

don't have much of space for anything else.

might consider mango next.

thanks,

pete

Comments (10)

• luigi_13
    11 years ago

Hi Pete,
    my brother purchased one plant of "Issai" this year. it was potted in a 20cm vase, and was 60cm tall and full of flowers. it has produced about 30 ripe fruits, and still in the same pot. (Issai is self fertile).
    So, do try and good luck!
    Luigi

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    11 years ago

pete:

I haven't had the hardy kiwi but have grown most everything else in pots 15 gal and smaller. So yours should work at that size. I have done the trellis thing in a pot. For Kiwi the trellis would need to be pretty sturdy. I can visualize one with 3-4 legs and a circle about 4ft up.

• bullet08
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thanks guys. i think i'll try it next spring. have 4 hardy kiwi that i just purchased. if they survive the winter, they will go in bigger pot to grow and when they are tall enough, will go into 20 gal pot with support and a circle.

• persianmd2orchard
    11 years ago