Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beeman_gardener

Wintering Containers.

beeman_gardener
10 years ago

The leaves are off, so I'm getting ready to put my two container trees away for the winter, first real frost today. One Peach and one Apricot, both successfully kept for the first year.
Would appreciate some general advice regarding winterizing?
Have an unheated garage with space.
What do I need to do and lookout for during the winter?
When do I remove for next year?
Re-potting?

Comments (3)

• lsoh
    10 years ago

I live in zone 5. I have several different types of fruit in pots. But I've only been doing this for a few years, so I'm not an expert.

Most of my plants stay outside for the winter. I bury those pots in leaves. (The pile of leaves collapses over the winter, so pile the leaves higher than the pot.)

I bring the most cold sensitive plants inside into an unheated space. Keep the soil moist. They still need water, but not nearly as much as when they are growing.

Anything marginal for my zone goes inside. So far, this has worked for me.

In the spring, I take mine outside when they show signs of life. But my plants may be responding to indirect sunlight, I don't know. So maybe that sign won't work if sunlight doesn't reach your plants. However, last frost is later than that. So once the plants blossom, I either cover my plants or drag them back inside at night to protect from frost.

Regarding re-potting: I haven't re-potted mine. But my oldest plants are a cherry tree and 2 blueberries from 2010. I'm taking my lead from an expert here, fruitnut, who does not re-pot often. However, I would guess that the size of pot and type of potting soil would be factors. Maybe you could tell us what size pot and what type of potting soil you used?

Hopefully more knowledgeable readers will share more.

• beeman_gardener
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the reply.
    Sorry for the delay, busy time of year.