Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelby_miller

Pine Needles As Mulch Around Peach Trees

Kelby Miller
10 years ago

I have a question about Peach Trees and using Pine needles as mulch around them. I am in Zone 6b in south central Pennsylvania near gettysburg.

Shown below is a picture of my peach trees now (Sorry it isn't that great of a picture. I'll take a better one when I can).
{{gwi:125281}}

I just moved to this house and I have no idea what to do for these peach trees. I got one peach off of them this year and it was a good size. I want to make sure next year I can get peaches like that from all of the trees. It is the fall now and I have a ton of Pine needles. Will they work as a mulch around the trees without negatively effecting them?

Also, I am a newbie gardner so I will take any advice on what to do to my peach trees over the fall/winter to prepare them for the spring.

Comments (25)

• alan haigh
    10 years ago

The old horticultural myth is that pine needles are acidifying and so are often recommended for blueberries. Pine needles actually have very little ability to lower pH but do make a fine mulch, although needles aren't as nutritious as leaves- but leaves need to be shredded or blow away and they break down faster.

The act of smothering the grass under at least a part of the drip line will invigorate your peaches but you will almost certainly need to apply some spray and prune properly to get those trees into production. If you want my minimal spray program, e-mail me.

• rayrose
    10 years ago