Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
birdboyhg

Starting a home orchard

birdboyhg
15 years ago

I am a college student who would eventually like to own a farm. On my farm I would like a small orchard. Next semester (my sr. year) I am going to do an independent study and learn plant propagation techniques. One technique is grafting and I decided to graft the fruit trees I would like for my orchard. I am having trouble deciding on cultivars of the various drupes and pomes. For apples, I am thinking... honeycrisp, ginger gold, gravenstein, McIntosh, melrose, spartan, winesap, macoun, granny smith, and an heirloom variety grown from seed by one of my professors. I found semi-dwarf rootstock for sale and plan to buy 75 rootstocks (5 for each variety of apple and the rest for pears). When it comes to pears, peaches(hoping for a mix of yellow and white flesh), plum, apricot,(50 semi dwarf rootstocks for the peaches, plums, and apricots) and cherry(15 semi dwarf rootstocks for sweet and sour cherries), I have no idea what to grow. Does anyone have any suggestions for good cultivars of apple, peach, plum, pear, and sweet cherry( I am thinking montmorency for pie cherry). I live in a zone 6a, but must be hardy to zone 5b just to be safe.

By the way, once I plan on the variety('s'), I am also looking for those cultivars' scion wood, so If you have some to trade or to sell, email me.

Comments (11)

• austransplant
    15 years ago

I can't speak to your specific apple choices, but applaud your general plan. You could speak to Adams County Nursery in Pennsylvania for information on varieties suitable to PA. Check out their web site, which you can easily find with Google.

No doubt some of those on Garden Web can supply scion wood once the trees become dormant, but I'd also strongly urge you to join NAFEX (North American Fruit Explorers), an organization of amateur fruit growers (and some explorers). Their members are a great source for scion wood and information.