Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redsun9

Trouble With Growing Watermelon

This is my first year growing watermelon. So it is still a learning process.

This spring, I planted 8 watermelon vines, Crimson Sweet and another variety. I planted them in end of May, so this might have been a little late.

The plants did very well in spring and set out a lot of flowers. Then small fruits emerged and quickly grew to about fist/softball sizes. Then the growth slowed down quite considerably. Over the summer, the plants did not do anything. The watermelon grew to at most 8" diameter, then stopped growing. The plants gradually died out.

Each plants set about 2-3 melons. The spacing is good. The bed is in full sun, watered well. We used half composted wood chips as mulch. I did not see any bugs, no vine borers. No fertilizer was used. The bed is new.

So what could have gone wrong? Are wood chips to blame? Or there is anything else I do not know?

Comments (15)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    9 years ago

Possibly not enough fertilizer especially nitrogen. The vines need lots of leaves and vigorous growth. A good patch should have at least this many leaves.

{{gwi:106670}}

They tend to do better on sandy well drained soils. But well drained loamy and clay loam soils like mine work well also.

For max brix the water and fertility need to be at proper levels. Plus lots of sun, heat, and few weeds. I grow mine on black weed barrier.

• rayrose
    9 years ago

Do a soil test to see what you may need to add and get rid of the wood chips. They rob the soil of nitrogen. Watermelons don't need to be mulched, but they need loose soil, water and full all day sun.

• glib
    9 years ago

By now the chips are not robbing anything anymore. Just add urea next year. If you don't see a jungle like in the picture above, add more urea. Or blood meal. They only need to be watered up to a point. In the last 15-20 days before harvest, no water for max sweetness.

• milehighgirl
    9 years ago