Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessierou

Small steps to self suffieciency

JessieRou
9 years ago

Hey yall!

I'm new to this :) Over the past 5 years I've started and become successful with chickens (for meat and eggs) and a backyard vegetable garden.

I want to add fruit trees. I would really appreciate help with varities and any other tips I could use as an inexperienced fruit tree grower.

I want to get started with 2 apple trees, 1 sweet cherry, 1 peach, 2 plums, and maybe an Asian pear.

I'm sure I would do better with easy maintenance/disease resistant varities.
I'm mostly looking for tasty/juicy for fresh eating.
I'll probably order from Stark Bros. I think.

For apples:
Empire
Starkrimson Gala
Stark Super Red Fuji

Cherry:
Blackgold

Peach:
Redhaven

Plum:
Spring Satin plumcot
Starking Delicious
(open for suggestions for a tasty purple plum)

Can anyone recommend a variety that I've chosen or a better choice? Or any other advice?

Comments (13)

• manfromyard
    9 years ago

None of the fruit trees that you listed are easy maintenance except the one that you listed as a maybe, It would help if you told us where you lived.Unless you live in the desert or somewhere very dry, you will be spraying constantly with cherries, apples, peaches, and plums.

• mamuang_gw
    9 years ago

Totally agree with Manfromyard. I was a former veggie gardener, too. Growing fruit tree is a steep learning curve.

I had the same goal you have when I switched (not adding) to fruit tree growing. Made many mistakes before I found this forum.

You are at the right place. Just let us know where you live. It's an important factor. A lot of people here are very helpful.

• JessieRou
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I am in hot, humid mississippi. Zone 7b, very close to the zone 8 line. I am ok with spraying. I'd prefer an easy spray schedule tho haha!

Thanks for the help!

• ltilton
    9 years ago