Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raiquee

Tolman Sweet Apple

raiquee
12 years ago

Hello,

Was wondering if anyone had experience growing this heritage apple, and where I could find it? An orchard down the road grows this, but its been there for years and years. This is my husbands favorite apple and wanted to find a tree of it.

Any suggestions?

Comments (12)

• sautesmom Sacramento
    12 years ago

Maple Valley sells them

Carla in Sac

Here is a link that might be useful: http://www.maplevalleyorchards.com/Pages/ScionWood.aspx

• Scott F Smith
    12 years ago

Also try Trees of Antiquity, Cummins, Henry Leuthardt, Big Horse Creek Farm.

I have a graft of it but have not gotten any fruit from it.

Scott

• maryhawkins99
    12 years ago

Johnson nursery in ga has it

• raiquee
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks guys, I was hitting some dead ends as I'm new to the fruit tree world :)

• tedgrowsit
    12 years ago

You could get yourself a rootstock and graft a tree of your own from a twig from your local orchard. It is a lot of fun. Ted

• raiquee
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I don't know the first thing about grafting or rootstocks. I'd perfer not to dabble in that, as i'm not quite sure I have the brainpower for that one yet!

• marknmt
    12 years ago

Keep reading- you'll be ready in time for Spring!

:-)M

• spartan-apple
    12 years ago

I once grew Tolman Sweet at an orchard I worked at when just out of college. This orchard only had 4 standard Tolman trees but had a cult following for the fruit. We had customers who called every year to check on their harvest and reserve them. Some would drive 60 miles to get them!

While a decent apple, I was never overly impressed with them. Just my opinion as others sure rave about them!

• hoosier318
    12 years ago