Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blueboy1977

Potted Blueberry and Systemic for Thrips

blueboy1977
11 years ago

I've been fighting thrips for 2 1/2 years now and I think they are getting used to Spinosad. It doesn't seem to knock them back like it used to. Wondering if there are any systemic pesticides I could use after harvesting fruit for the remainder of the growing season and use Spinosad from bloom to harvest. The thrips really like my SHB but leave my Rabbiteyes alone for the most part. All my SHB are in pots with the exception of 1 and I could do a soil drench on all my pots. Any thoughts or recommendations?

Comments (15)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    11 years ago

blueboy:

I've been ignoring mine for the most part. Haven't sprayed yet partly because I'm not sure it's thrips and haven't had them in the spring. If they hurt production then I'll think about control. Are yours hurting production? Because if they don't it's just a cosmetic issue.

I've never heard of a systemic for thrips. Could be one. Just be sure it won't carry over and kill the bees. Imidadoprid is death on bees. Not sure if it controls thrips.

• gator_rider2
    11 years ago

Blueboy if having flower Thrips problem this link help http://floridablueberrygrowers.com/grower/growers-resources/

Citrus thrips cause a lot leaf damage you in low elevation area that there hang out 2,000 feet and above would be safe. The only Systemic is Oxamyl 10% here link with all insecticide been check http://www.plantprotection.hu/modulok/angol/citrus/thrips_cit.htm

As see in this link at bottom good coverage needed like high pressure looks like second spray needed less 20 days because hatching cycle.

Two methods I pick to do spraying one build plastic cover room close to air tight then use Foggers like ones use in homes 2 hours later open plastic 10 minutes remove plants.