Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
illiah

Mature stella cherry didn't flower

illiah
11 years ago

Hi all,

I have a mature stella cherry tree (about 3m tall and wide). last year it flowered and produced little green fruits which all fell off. The tree had a really bad pear and cherry slug infestation so I assumed this was why the fruit fell. Over winter we put the chickens under the tree and this year we haven't seen a single pear and cherry slug. But it's supposed to fruit in december in our area and we haven't had any flowers on it yet. does anyone have any ideas about why it's not flowering?

If anyone can offer any insight i'd really appreciate it - i'm a very novice gardener.

Comments (7)

• Charlie
    11 years ago

What is the weather like there in Australia? If you did not have enough chill hours during the cold weather that could be your problem.

• franktank232
    11 years ago

Late frost/freeze?

Just a thought, but Stella is not that great of a cherry...much better sweet cherries out there, a lot of them being self pollinating.

• illiah
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks CharlieBoring for the thought but we got heavy frosts everyday for two months during winter, sometimes down to -10 so I'm pretty sure it got enough chill.

We do get late frosts Franktank232 - I think the last one this year was mid october but I know we got 3 in a row late october last year. I know late frost can damage flowers and stop them setting fruit but would it prevent flowering altogether?
    Also, I had thought that Stella was pretty much the only self pollinating sweet cherry - not that we chose this one, we only moved into our house a year and a half ago and it was already there where we moved in - what sweet cherry varieties would you recommend? I'd be very keen to get opinions on other options.

Thank you both for your thoughtful and quick replies

• franktank232
    11 years ago