Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
biomed_gw

best pluots for zone 6.

Biomed
11 years ago

I am looking for 2 high quality pluots to grow for zone 6. Plz recommend.

Comments (12)

• andrew_swmo
    11 years ago

The 4x1 Zee Sweet Pluot (Splsh/E.Drop/F.Gren/G.Pride) from Raintree sounds interesting. I might get it myself. Her is a link http://www.raintreenursery.com/4x1_Zee_Sweet_Pluot_Splsh_E.Drop_F.Gren_G.Pride.html

• foolishpleasure
    11 years ago

I love to eat Plout but where I was born we never heard about it. What region of the world did the plout originate.
    Abe

• foolishpleasure
    11 years ago

I looked at 4X1 Zee sweet plout tree. It looks very good but I am a newbie and Raintree site does not have any information. I live in Zone 7B when the winter is freezing. Does the tree stands this kind of winter or it needs protection. This will tell me how to plant it in the ground or into a pot. Is it self pollinating I guess it is because the tree is four kinds. The tree they are selling for 45-46 dollars how old and how big is it? If I plant it this fall can it produce in summer?

• Scott F Smith
    11 years ago

Most pluots are hard to grow outside of the west coast. The main problems are lack of fruit set and diseases (brown rot in particular). My favorites are Flavor Grenade, which sets very well but is prone to rot, and Flavor Supreme, which sets almost nothing at all but otherwise is very reliable. I got a dozen Flavor Supremes on my whole tree last summer. So when I say low set I mean LOW. I got half a Flavor Grenade off my young tree, the rest rotted. I hope to do a bit better than that at least. The other varieties of pluot are generally only harder to grow than these two. Well I did hear Flavor Heart might be OK. My Flavor King also rots badly. I did pretty well last summer on that one, but the deer decided they liked them so I got only one fruit. Ten years .. two fruits (I also got one 3-4 years ago).