Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
albert_135

Looking for a good quality ''wire saw''.

Back in the days of printed magazines and catalogs we would see a "wire saw" advertised for trimming trees.

Amazon has several in sports and recreation but the user reviews say their quality is unsatisfactory. I have Googled up GW's tool forum. While I am lurking there perhaps you would share here.

Have you had any satisfactory experiences with a "wire saw"? What brand?

[One can find plenty of accounts of unsatisfactory experiences.] ;-)

Comments (9)

• lucky_p
    10 years ago

I don't know anything about using a wire saw in horticultural pursuits, but in my former life, as a large animal veterinarian, I had occasion to use obstetrical wire saws on a regular basis, for fetotomies and dehorning.

Here is a link that might be useful: OB Wire saw

• olpea
    10 years ago

From a horticultural perspective I can't see much advantage to a wire saw.

Loppers will handle stuff up to 1.5". Hand saws will handle stuff larger than that and still get into tight places. I imagine they would be a lot faster than a wire saw.

I've had pruning get away from me and used a chain saw to bring things under control.

I've heard of a farmer using a chain saw for dehorning, but I'll save that for another discussion. Something I'm sure Lucky wouldn't recommend!

• Konrad___far_north
    10 years ago

You're better off with a real saw or pruner, wire saws for wood are slow, good to take along when on camping trips etc. small and light,..I've used it as a kid.

I've goggled in German, this guy say's the Relags wire saw works best with the straps on ends, easy on your hands, the one's with rings will hurt your fingers in no time.

Here is a link that might be useful: Relags wire saw

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    10 years ago