Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abfield

Newbie...Growing Concord Grapes from Seeds

abfield
17 years ago

Hi all,

I've read many posts on these forums about Concord Grape growing and care but I'm having trouble getting a consensus on starting Concord grapes from seeds.

This past summer I bought a bunch of Concord grapes from a local MA grocery store. I saved the seeds as I ate them. It's now November 12 and I've been considering starting them indoors in pots for next spring.

My question is, should I just wait until after the last frost next spring and plant the seeds right outside? Is starting them indoors a better idea and if so are there any gotchas or tips? Is it a waste of time to try and start the vines from seeds that I got from a bunch that I bought at the market? They were definitely labeled "Concord Grapes" and were grown in the northeast. I have simply kept them in a bowl in my kitchen, is this bad? Do I need to germinate them first?

Many thanks in advance, I'm an amateur.

-Adam

Comments (13)

• kiwinut
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The seeds will need to be stratified before they will germinate. If you want to start them indoors, you can put them in a ziplock bag with some lightly moistened potting soil, and leave them in the refrigerator for 2-3 months, then move to room temp. Leave the bag unsealed, but folded over to retain moisture, which will still let air in and out. If you just want to grow them outdoors, you need to plant the seeds now, so they will stratify over the winter. They will not sprout until the soil warms up enough, which should be well after the risk of frost is past.

You should also be aware that the seedlings will be different than Concord. Most will be inferior, but a few could be similar or better.

• jellyman
    17 years ago

Adam: