Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caflowerluver

white fungus (?) on apple tree roots

caflowerluver
14 years ago

Can anyone tell me what this is and how to get rid of it? We have had small patches in the past but never this bad.

Thanks.

{{gwi:125965}}

{{gwi:125966}}

Comments (11)

• thisisme
    14 years ago

I'm no expert but does any of it look like the picture in my link.

Here is a link that might be useful:

• jellyman
    14 years ago

Aptosca:

Could you please tell us where you live, what your recent rainfall situation has been, and describe the drainage of your orchard area?

Photo #2 appears to show soil that has been subject to running water at the base of the tree. If drainage is poor around this tree, it is possible that the lower area has been partially drowned, killing the root tissue and permitting the formation of opportunistic fungal growth. I know of no way to cure this, and would say the prognosis for this tree is poor.

It is also possible that thisisme is correct about presence of wooly aphids, but it would take a much closer look to determine this. My personal opinion is that you have fungal growth on necrotic wood.

Don Yellman, Great Falls, VA

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    14 years ago

I have to agree it looks like this tree is planted in a depression that fills with water either from rain or irrigation and stands in water a good bit of the time. To save the tree would mean re-terracing the area to keep the water away from the tree trunk. If this tree is being watered, the water should be applied at and beyond the drip line. Al

• alan haigh
    14 years ago

Does look kindof like RAA but I've never seen them so concentrated. Tree is pretty old so I don't know why it would suddenly have an issue with drainage out of the blue. Soil looks sandy and not soppy as well. I've never seen a fungus that looked like that on drowning apples anyway- have you Don?