Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
foolishpleasure

Southren Bush Blueberry

foolishpleasure
11 years ago

I live in 7B where the winter get very cold and we get freezing weather too. Among my Blueberry bushes are two southern Blueberry called Rabbit-eye Blueberry. They are new about 5 feet high and planted in pots. My question is Can the southern bush stand my winter like my Northern Bushes or I should take them inside.
Abe

Comments (9)

• Bradybb WA-Zone8
    11 years ago

Hi Abe,
    Rabbiteye are a Southern climate plant,but can usually handle Zone 7 temperatures,which is suppose to be the coldest of their range.
    Were they yours awhile and what kind of Winters did they go through?Being in containers,they could also be moved in an unheated space,ideally 32-45 degrees F to get their needed chill hours,if the weather became too cold. Brady

• foolishpleasure
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Brady
    Thank you for replying. Really I have no experience with Rabbit-eye which is a Southern Bush. I have the Northern Bush Blueberry which I leave outside. My woman wanted to surprise me and bought me these two bushes which are almost 6 feet. She does not know any thing about plants and climates. I planted them in 15 gallons pots because I was not sure if they can stand our climate. I have unheated garage attached to my house. Temperature range from freezing line to 40. I guess this will be a good place for them to spend the winter
    Abe

• blueboy1977
    11 years ago

Do you know if they are different varieties? Brightwell and Tiftblue are the only ones I know of that are partially self fertile. Some of the new varieties may also be. Almost all Rabbiteyes need a pollinator for good fruit set.

• blueboy1977
    11 years ago

Do you know if they are different varieties? Brightwell and Tiftblue are the only ones I know of that are partially self fertile. Some of the new varieties may also be. Almost all Rabbiteyes need a pollinator for good fruit set.

• lucky_p