Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pife_gw

Fruit tree book recommendations

pife
15 years ago

A few years ago we moved out of town and have planted a small fruit orchard of about 10 various trees (Peach, Apple, Cherry, Pear). I don't know anything about fruit tree care and to make matters worse,I am a beekeeper. I am over-sesative to insecticides that either kill my bees or the bees bring back and contaminate their wax foundation or their (or my) honey. I can't control what neighbors do but can control here. I know that I get fungus, bagworms, and Lord only knows what else.

I am looking for a couple good book references that I can get at the library and read before spring. What say you?

Thanks and Merry Christmas,

Pife

Comments (11)

• austransplant
    15 years ago

Pife,

Merry christmas to you to. I have been growing fruit for a few years now and just started to keep bees this year, so I have similar concerns regarding pesticides.

Regarding books, for the complete beginner I would recommend the two books by Stella Otto, which I think are called The Backyard Orchard and the Backyard Berry Grower. There are other books that will be useful, but they can overwhelm the complete beginner. I would also recommend two other sources: the Penn State and Cornell University sites, both of which contain very good guides on home fruit growing. I would google Penn State fruit growing or Cornell fruit growing and you should be able to find them. I will try to get the links and post them later.