Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Plum tree oozing globs of jelly sap

Posted by ahajmano sunset 23 (My Page) on
Thu, Dec 13, 12 at 11:20

Hi all,

Just had a heavy rainstorm, and my dormant elephant heart plum is oozing tons of jelly-like sap. Sap is not sweet, rather it is gelatinous and translucent (photo attached).

Any ideas? I bought it a few months ago and it is still in a pot, waiting to be planted.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Plum tree oozing globs of jelly sap

gummosis

and if i am not mistaken.. incurable ..

what happened to the top of that tree??? .. wonder if the supplier cut off all the black knot.. lol ...

i would get rid of it ... lets see what the fruit pros have to say ...

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

o

• Posted by mrclint z10SoCal Valley (My Page) on
    Fri, Dec 14, 12 at 12:05

I'm not a tree pro nor do I play one on the Internet. ;)

It might be a stretch to automatically issue a death sentence. I see this sort of thing on various trees and plants after pruning cuts, and sometimes in random locations on branches. My grapevine does this after pruning as do peaches, plums, etc.

Generally, anywhere that a tree gets injured, it is going to sap at that spot. It's possible that the cause of what you are seeing is due to a sucking or boring insect, sun damage, or even rough handling. You seem to have a large amount in a fairly localized area. I would consider pruning out that section if it doesn't consist of a majority of the tree.

o

I've had that a couple times, the oozing of sap at the buds, and the tree showed no further adverse symptoms and it never happened again. About all you can do is check carefully for canker or injury and if there is none hope it just had a bad day and decided to blow off some sap.

Scott

o

I figure sap is like the mucus we get with a cold- and also more serious diseases- so the danger cant be accurately diagnosed on the internet.