Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bonsaist

I give up on growing stone fruit

bonsaist
14 years ago

I've been growing plums, apricots, peaches for a the past 8 years, but every year my crop fails. The first couple years I've never sprayed. Then the following years I attempted to keep up with spraying, but the plum curcilio the humidity and rain always get them before I do.

should I give them another year and try something different?

I'm about to pull them all out and replace them with other fruit trees that are trouble free. Such as persimmon, jujube, pawpaw, fig trees.

What would you do if you have limited space?

Bass

Comments (55)

• olpea
    14 years ago

Bass.

You can grow stone fruits, if you want to. The issue is whether you want to go to the trouble. If I can grow prunus here in the Midwest, you can grow it in the East. As you know, apples have a longer season than most stone fruits. As such, they have a longer spray schedule. So, if your willing to grow apples, you can grow peaches.

Here, about every 4th house has unmanaged fruit trees. We also get lots of rain through the growing season, with high temps and high humidity. I can't imagine a much more difficult climate for stone fruits, than mine. So, you may not have to spray as much as me.

I follow most commercial spray guides, which basically is a spray every two weeks, or an inch of rain, whichever comes first. It's not a big deal to add a fungicide in the spray mix. Again, you may be able to get by with less, but there is a program that will work for you, if you're willing to use synthetics.

• bonsaist
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the encouragement,
    Harvestman, you've got email. i would like to see the schedule and the product you use. I will give it one more year.

Bass

• Scott F Smith
    14 years ago

I almost gave up when I had a combo of voracious squirrels and horrible brown rot two years ago. But I redoubled my efforts and got a decent crop last summer.