Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lsoh_ohzone5

Rain barrels to water fruit?

lsoh
10 years ago

Is anyone using rain barrels as their water source?

There are 2 reasons I was interested in using rain barrels.
1) My blueberries would probably be happier with rain water than with our city water.
2) At this point, we are free to travel. But my containerized fruits need daily water. Our wonderful neighbors water, but it's a chore. I was hoping to set up 3 strategically located rain barrels with drip lines / soaker hoses. I have no experience with these. I was thinking that the neighbor could simply turn on and off these lines. (From what I see, timers are expensive for my purposes, and some require electric that wouldn't be available.)

While researching how to make a rain barrel, I ran across articles warning against using roof water run off to water edibles. The concern is heavy metals. Apparently there are 2 applicable sources of heavy metal contamination. A) Composition of asphalt shingles. B) Heavy metal dust settling on the roof from air pollution. (Seems to me if that's a problem, it would also be a problem in the rain itself.)

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

Any other suggestions? Thanks.

Comments (16)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    10 years ago

Well water would be easier to mechanize than rainwater because it doesn't run dry and pressure is more constant and higher. Also it takes big barrels and large collection area to water many trees. As a result I use rainwater for blueberries only.

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    10 years ago

Well most states have facilities to test water for drinking. You should test your well water before drinking it, so you could send samples in to test. I always wonder too about arsenate and lead in soils. Something to think about too, is most water plants well no all water plants do not remove heavy metals or solvents etc. They just sterilize the water.