Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bike2work

I messed up, please help!

bike2work
9 years ago

Hi,

I am a complete novice with garden.

I bought a fruit tree that I really wanted (Chinese hawthorn) early this year(2014) and planted it. Now it is first winter, I am thinking maybe I need to do some pruning. After I searched the net I found out I completely did the planting wrong.

All the information says the newly bought tree should be cut down to very short at planting but I just put the tree in a hole.

Now what should I do for this winter? Can I still cut it down as if this is a first year tree?

Thanks in advance.

PS. I am not sure this is the right forum for my question. I first posted at "tree" forum but they suggested to move to here.

Comments (29)

• 2010champsbcs
    9 years ago

Bike. I have not grown this variety of tree but I have planted many others. Other people with precise experience will add more detailed information. If it is a potted tree that is not root bound, pruning may not be needed. If it is a bare root tree I would prune it back to a level that would better match the top to the amount of roots. Good luck, Bill

• bob_z6
    9 years ago

How did the tree grow? I don't prune back any of my trees (mostly bare root). The biggest negative I sometimes see is a bare area (part of the trunk with no branches). So, while some say it increases your chances of the tree living (equalizing the top with the roots), I haven't had any significant issues without any initial pruning.

In general (and especially at this point a year later), I think the decision of how much (and where) to prune will come down to what shape you want the tree to take.

• bike2work
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi,

Thank you for your replies.

I attached a picture here. The height of the center trunk is 4 feet (where the red arrow points). The tallest branch is 5'8".

• 2010champsbcs
    9 years ago