Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leoncubano

Budding plum tree

LeonCubano
9 years ago

Hi,

I'm brand new to fruit trees as I just got myself a plum and a damson trees.

I've been reading about grafiting and budding but most of the information I have found online and in books is contradictory and quite a lot of it does not answer my questions. There is plenty on technique but not much more. I was hoping that you might be able to help.

1- First off, what time of year can I chip bud? Some books say mid-summer to Autumn others all year around. Could anyone clarify this for me?

2 - Something that no one seems to address is the age of the trees when budding is performed. Is there a minimum age for a tree to be before chip budding? Mine are two years old at the moment.

3 - How many buds can/should one chip bud to a given tree at a given time? is 4 acceptable?

4 - What part of the tree should one graft to? Mine have a pixy and and VVA rootstocks and a old greengage and a merrywhether interstock (repectively). Should I bud to the rootstock? The interstock? To a branch? Or the main shoot?

Any and all help on any of these questions would be most appreciated!

Many thanks and best regards,

Comments (4)

• alcedo 4/5 W Europe
    9 years ago

Leon

1- For Europe mid-August is ideal
    2- Depending on the thickness growth, two year olds are
    suitable
    3- thickness of a pencil
    4- in practice you can bud on the branches of a year old

Hopefully you helped with these answers

BR

• LeonCubano
    Original Author
    9 years ago

HI BR,

Many thanks for the reply and kind information.it does help.

However, you say budding can be done on the branches. Is this the only option? Could I possibly bud to the main interstock/tree and prune the top off to encourage growth? Was thinking to bud 3 or 4 varieties onto the main body of the tree and prune the current main shoot off significantly. Would this be possible / a good idea?