Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie Apple tree question.q

Posted by Eric580 5b (My Page) on
Tue, Dec 11, 12 at 18:50

Well, I have a pot that I planted several apple seeds in it. One of them sprouted that next week (around July). The others didn't germinate, but one germinated a few days ago and winter is fast approaching. The oldest apple is starting to lose its leaves. If I bring the pot indoors will the oldest apple die? If I leave it outside will the small one die? What should I do to save both? Please help. Thanks in advance:)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie Apple tree question.q

I'm not an expert but personally I would leave them outside. Apples are very hardy and based on everything I have learned, they need cold weather to mature properly. They've been doing this for tens of thousands of years.

o

Thank you dmtaylor. Now both apples will survive.

o

• Posted by bob_z6 6b/7a SW CT (My Page) on
    Wed, Dec 12, 12 at 23:10

The one which sprouted in July should be fine. But if I read that correctly, the 2nd sprouted in December (which is kind of strange...). I think that 2nd one would die outside. Plants need time to harden off for the winter. If the seed just germinated in the past week, I don't see how it could harden off in time for a zone 5b winter. I'd say keep that one inside this winter in a south facing window and leave it out next winter. Or better yet, plant it in the fall.

o

where are you in z5??

in my z5 MI .. i would tuck then in on the north side of the house.. when the ground freezes .. i would tip over the pot ... and as i shoveled snow of the sidewalk .. i would bury it in snow .. if any ... the snow actually insulates then from frigid winter winds.. and temp spikes ..

they are a deciduous tree.. they were supposed to lose their leaves months ago .. i suspect you may have been feeding them .. trees dont need a lot of fert in a pot ...