Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kans_gw

urgent help needed

kans
10 years ago

Hi all
I am very new to gardening. We just moved into our New house and I planted few fruit trees in the backyard. I saw some ants and some holes on the leaves of the true so decided to spray them. My local nursery gave me malathion spray. Instead of diluting 1 ml in 1 litre , I diluted 10 ml in 1 litre and sprayed them all. But I quickly realised and gave them a wash with mu hose. I really feel terrible. And o can't sleep thinking of my trees might be damaged or even die soon. Any suggestion to save them Please..

Comments (15)

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    10 years ago

It won't hurt them at all. Ant's don't eat leaves BTW. They were probably taking the honeydew from the aphids, which were eating your leaves. You could have just hosed them off.

• marknmt
    10 years ago

What Drew said. You did no harm.

• alan haigh
    10 years ago

All part of the learning process. It was a good idea to wash it off because 10X dosage with some formulations could burn the leaves.

Holes in leaves were not caused by aphids and were probably the work of caterpillars although certain diseases can cause holes as well.

I do not understand how you are involved spraying aphids on growing trees in Kansas in late Dec. This post seems a bit strange. Hmmm. Thought today was Christmas and not April fools.

Merry Christmas everyone- my family sleeps in as I indulge in my favorite forum.

• kans
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks drew and mark.
    Harvestman : I live in Melbourne, Australia

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    10 years ago

Ah Melbourne the other Kansas City :)

I'm up because the dog needed to go out. He chased something out of the yard? Hopefully it wasn't Santa!

Well I guess the ants could have been going for something else? Although who knows? In Melbourne you may have some way different ants.