Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zone5b

Montmorency Cherry Tree

zone5b
15 years ago

I am going to plant a cherry tree in the spring and am trying to prepare and decide what tree would be best. I am thinking I like the Montmorency. I am only able to have one cherry tree. I am just trying to decide if I want a sweet cherry tree or a sour. The sweet cherry tree I was looking at was the Lapin. I am new to planting and caring for fruit trees and I guess am looking for any advice on the type of tree or the care. My soil is heavy clay and from what I have read it seems the sour cherry trees might thrive in any type of soil. Also is this type of tree something that our local nursery would have in stock?

Comments (37)

• denninmi
    15 years ago

If you can only grow one cherry tree, I would definitely plant a sour cherry versus a sweet cherry. Sweet cherries are much harder to grow, have far more disease and cultural issues, and you are far less likely to get a crop of sweet cherries versus sour cherries overall. Heavy clay isn't a problem for cherries.

You'll need to do a good basic spray program. Probably the simplest way for a newbie is just to buy a good home orchard spray and follow the directions on it. Generally, you'll probably have to spray the tree five or six times throughout the growing season, along with a dormant oil spray in late winter.

Most local nurseries should carry sour cherries (at least, they all do here in Michigan).

• djofnelson
    15 years ago

If you're only planting one cherry tree, you might want to consider a Danube cherry, which is supposed to be sweeter than most sour cherries, i.e., better for fresh eating. I assume that it offers all the above listed advantages of other sour cherries, but you might want to research it further to confirm this.

• zone5b
    Original Author
    15 years ago