Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ribs1

Expanding my apple orchard looking for suggestions

ribs1
9 years ago

Hello Everyone,
Haven't posted in a while. I am wondering if I can get some advice on new varieties to try.
First, here is my list of current varieties.
Snow
Newton Pippin
Black Twig
Arkansas Black
Spy
Cox
Tolman sweet
Monark
Calville Blanc
Rubaiyat (greenmantle)
Eden Crab (greenmantle)
Pink Pearmain (greenmantle)

Right now I'm planning to add probably 3 trees. I will also like to get some scion wood to do some grafting this spring. So probably 6 varieties. It would be nice if the whole trees were can't miss varieties and the grafts were sort of experiments. (I could add more trees if i want. I have plenty of space)

I live in Ann Arbor Michigan zone 6a.

I am an expert by no means but I am experienced. I have had my current orchard for about 5 years now and I'm gaining familiarity with orchard maintenance and spraying. I am not afraid of high maintenance varieties if it means great flavor, but at the same time I don't want to drive my self crazy if I don't have to.

When it comes to my tastes, I like anything interesting. I like apples that have strange flavors. I like notes of anise, or clove, or other spice. I like tropical flavors. Anything interesting. Right now my current favorite apple is the Rubinette and I might try my hand at growing that one.

Anyone have some interesting apples that absolutely need to go on the list of an apple collector?
Any other advice?

Thanks

Paul in Ann Arbor

Comments (17)

• clarkinks
    9 years ago

I like the traditional gala, Fuji, Arkansas black, honeycrisp and pink lady apples but I found a link that might help.

Here is a link that might be useful: Unusual flavored apples

• bob_z6
    9 years ago