Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susanenan

Fruit bushes that will grow well ln Nashville, TN

susanenan
9 years ago

I am new to growing food here in Nashville, TN but had good success with vegetables last year. Early next year, I'm hoping to add some raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, red currants, black currants, and maybe some gooseberries.

Has anyone had success with certain varieties here? I would like to get the longest growing season possible.

Also, I'm planting the bushes around my house. All but one wall gets a lot of sun, the other, only until noon every day. Any advice on which bushes would work best with a little less sun.

Comments (11)

• cousinfloyd
    9 years ago

My guess is that blueberries, blackberries, and gooseberries (roughly in that order) are the fruits on your list with which you'll most likely have success.

Your summers may be hotter than currants and gooseberries would prefer, but they may still work for you. The spot you described that only gets morning sun might be the best compromise for a Nashville summer.

Blackberries can be a lot tougher than raspberries, and raspberries would probably prefer cooler summers, too. If you want excellent tasting blackberries that are easier to grow consider some of the thorny varieties. The thorns are a very significant compromise, but the thornless varieties seem to compromise taste, vigor, and or ease of management (particularly as far as training/support).

With blueberries be sure to consider which type (rabbiteye, southern highbush, or northern highbush) does best in your area. I suspect it will be rabbiteye. Soil acidity (pH) is also especially important to consider with blueberries. If soils in your area are generally acidic, you likely won't have to do anything special, especially not for the apparently slightly more adaptable (with regards to pH) rabbiteye types. For a long season the rabbitye varieties I'd consider would include Yadkin, Premier, Bonita, and Onslow.