Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jplee3

Sunshine Blueberries - burnt leaves and browning stems?

jplee3
11 years ago

Hey all!

I picked up a 15-20" sunshine blueberry plant from Home Depot a couple months ago and am noticing that the main stem has been turning brown and a good number of leaves are starting to brown.

I haven't taken the plant out of its original planter and am wondering if I should. I was planning to keep in in a container and am probably going to move it to a larger planter anyway.

Is it just because it's winter that the plant is slightly browning? Since it's in a smaller container, is it possible that I've been overwatering? I was watering vigorously almost every day the first week or two I got it but backed off. I maybe water it once or twice a week at most. Should I plan to move it into a larger planter soon?

I'm pretty new to blueberries so could use some pointers. I went to a seminar and the suggested mix for transplanting into a larger container is as such:

1/3 1/4" pathway bark
1/3 peat moss
1/3 forest-byproduct-based potting soil (Azalea or Acid plant mix)
1 handful of soil sulfer per plant.

Any tips on keeping this one in good shape?

TIA!

Comments (17)

• Ernie
    11 years ago