Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krensgarden

Homemade Garden Gazebo

krensgarden
19 years ago

My husband came across some scrap sheets of copper at a recycler's outlet. He is a metal fabricator by trade and formed the sheets into a dome which we soldered together. There was also some 4" diameter steel pipe at the recycler's which became the legs for the dome. We added some aluminum castings welded together for a 'ring' around the bottom. Wanted to get this done for a June wedding in our garden, and completed it just in the nick of time. Here's a pic.

Image link:

Comments (28)

• paulns
    19 years ago

Karen, you've transformed your yard into a painting. It is absolutely enchanting. And not just the finished gazebo but the inspired thinking that led to it - wonderful. I made the mistake of showing the picture to my wife. She got that admiring/avaricious look in her eye...

• krensgarden
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Paul, Thank you for your kind words about our garden, we really appreciate it. However, not everyone saw the gazebo as 'artwork'...one visiting lady wanted to know why we put a silo roof up on stilts! Actually, the garden gazebo was inspired by a Thomas Kinkade painting, and when I saw the artwork I got the same admiring/avaricious look in MY eye, too. That's when my husband, Carl, should have run for cover! We had alot of fun building the gazebo and have many sheets left over. There are more ideas lurking...wish us luck, and thank you again for the encouragement.

• shadowgarden
    19 years ago

I think both the garden and the gazebo look lovely.

• krensgarden
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you Shadowgarden. I am in awe of your work, people with talent such as yours are an inspiration.

• Herb
    19 years ago

That gazebo is a beautiful piece of work.

Then I saw, in this morning's Times-Colonist, some pictures of a sculpture that's going to be installed in our new sports arena.