Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rose_gal

Anyone decorated their mailbox?

rose_gal
20 years ago

I have a mailbox posted on the wall outside my front door. It's utilitarian "grey" metal, and I was thinking of painting it and maybe doing some art on it. Has anyone done this? Any pics?

Comments (19)

• derfy
    20 years ago

yes, my wife has done two boxes of wild flower scenes using acrylics. I sprayed a white base coat first and finished with a couple of coats of spray urethane varnish.
    I notice the varnish on the south exposure is checking so I'll have to put on some more coats as soon as it warms up.
    I'm brand new to this web site and love it but no one has tald me how to post a picture, I do have a digicam

Fred from Grand Rapids, MI

• Rabbittmoon
    20 years ago

Not a bad idea, I'd love to paint something cool on my mailbox..

Derfy, you probably need webspace to host a pic to post it. A lot of the free webspace doesn't allow "remote linking" (posting the pic on other sites, like a forum) but good webspace is cheap and it's so easy to do. I recommend you look into it since you have a dig camera and your wife does artwork. :)

My advice, I love freeservers. Something like $6 a month for more webspace than I could ever use.

Anywho... if you ever have any questions about webspace or posting a pic, I'd be more than happy to help you. Or if you need a pic hosted, I can do that too. :)

• RosedreamerAL
    20 years ago

Painting your mailbox is very popular down south where I live.
    My parent s have had their large on the street mailbox painted
    by an artist friend twice. She painted white dogwood flowers and
    wisteria vines and it looks lovely. The mailbox itself was painted
    a dark green first. Give it a try because it certainly does wonders
    for an ordinary mailbox and brightens up the postmans day I'm
    sure. Good Luck!!

• ceebee
    20 years ago

I painted several for other people and did mine in sunflowers.

ceebee

• Sandyhills