o
An older part of the garden

Posted by botann z8 SEof Seattle (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 9, 08 at 13:13

IMG_2884

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: An older part of the garden

I wouldn't mind sitting right in the middle of that sunny area - gorgeous old trees. Is this really your garden?

Bernadette

o

• Posted by botann z8 SEof Seattle (My Page) on
    Wed, Feb 27, 08 at 5:45

When I bought the land 30 years ago it was a horse pasture. I put a modular home on it and started the garden. I'm a retired landscaper and garden designer so that explains a lot. Gardening is a hobby that turned into a vocation.
Our climate here near Seattle is a lot like parts of England.
My front door.

o

Oh thank you. My front yard has 5 feet of snow with 10 foot snowbanks. Sigh. Can't wait to see some colour again!

o

That is gorgeous! I love the big, older trees. How did you go about planning the layout of the flower beds? I am new to flower gardening, and we bought a house on 20 acres, and there is absolutely no flowers planted right now. Did you just go outside and do the layout, or did you draw it up on paper?

Thanks for the help!

Kim

o

• Posted by botann z8 SEof Seattle (My Page) on
    Fri, Mar 21, 08 at 13:27

The garden evolved. I planted trees for privacy first and at the same time preserving the winter sun. No use blocking that out. We get precious little here in Western Washington.

I built the bones first and then the flowers. Most people go about it the other way, which is backwards to me. Flowers are frosting and you have to build the cake before you put the frosting on.

o

• Posted by dees 5 IN (My Page) on
    Tue, Mar 25, 08 at 22:33

What a beautiful place you have created for yourself. I was looking thru your webshot photos and your place is breathtaking...I bet you have great fertile land, being as it was a horse pasture...show us more please...it helps with the Spring fever, ya know?
Dee

o