Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
solstice98

Black & White?

solstice98
18 years ago

I just started playing around with removing the color from digital shots and thought this might be the right forum to share this picture. I don't think I've done anything in black and white for 20 years (!) but this was fun to try.

If anyone else has a b/w to share, please add it!

{{gwi:59843}}

Comments (8)

• plantfreak
    18 years ago

Interesting idea, but these digital images that have been desaturated just don't look the same to me as a true black and white photo. I remember the countless hours I spent in the darkroom doing alchemy with BW photos. What fun that was. When digital came along, I snubbed my nose to it. It was too easy I said, just push a key and BAM! the picture is solarized. And so on. Now here I am 15 years later and I've given in to digital technology. Still, I'll never forget the old days and the joy of watching an image form on the paper in a developer bath...ahhh.

Here are my lame attempts at desaturating a couple digital shots. The first is an orchid, Paphiopedilum bellatullum:

{{gwi:59844}}

And next, a couple of sugi (Cryptomeria japonica) on a nearby mountain:

{{gwi:59845}}

PF

• JoanMN
    18 years ago

Beautiful pics!! Here's mine:
    {{gwi:59846}}

• stacey_turner
    18 years ago

Plantfreak, I find I have to fiddle with levels and contrast to make a b&w image desaturated from color look good. My camera has a b&w setting, though, and those photos look good. I was a film snob for years too; I even developed my own black and white film in my kitchen. :-)

• solstice98
    Original Author
    18 years ago