Return to the Garden Photo Gallery Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New Roses this year

Posted by cyberianblonde z6 PA (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 4, 06 at 8:53

I am new to roses. Here are a few shots of some I put in this year.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Above-Left to right; Fragrant Cloud,Chrysler Imperial,Cary Grant,
and the McCartney Rose
A different viewPhotobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting<
I'd like to plant something low growing between the roses.
Any suggestions anyone?
Happy Independence Day Everybody!
Becky
Becky

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New Roses this year

This time of year you might stick in some periwinkle to finish out the year?

o

No suggestions for the ground cover, only wanted to say what a nice color combination you created with the dark and light contrasting foliages. Also, great curving path!
---Keith

o

Very pretty. Why not plant sweet alyssum as a groundcover? Its annual, but I just sprinkle the seeds in the Springtime and they come up with the season's rain. Other groundcover suggestions that are perennial, instead of annual, would be: catmint, ladies mantle, geranium (Rozanne is a nice variety), lambs ear, salvia, lamium (aka dead nettle), ajuga and daylilies (low growing ones like Stella O'Doro). Good luck!

o

Hmmmmm....thank you all for the suggestions and the comments. I'm gonna have to mull over your ideas. So many great ideas!
But since I've spent my limit on flowers this year I have till next year to decide.
I really appreciate your input!
Happy Gardening!
Becky

o