Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowersandthings

Pics/files are to big for hortiplex.... how to resize?

flowersandthings
18 years ago

Hi so I've figured out how to "imbed" images in a posting so they show up there. But I was trying to add some images to the hortiplex and it said file "rejected" or whatever.... file larger than 60k..... What does that mean? How do I resixe the file to fit? If photobucket's files are rhe right size how do I put them in the hortiplex? Thanks :)

Comments (7)

• adam114
    18 years ago

I'm new to gardenweb so I'll stick to how to resize images and leave the usage of the site to someone else.

If you have Microsoft Picture It or Adobe Photoshop, the process is similar. Open the image and depending on the software, select save as or export as web image. Select a size to make the image. Then save it. Make sure it is saved as JPEG or GIF. PNG may also be okay but is not as supported as JPEG and GIf online.

You should check the help file of the software you use to see if it has a web image function as the process is different for every program.

• carol23_gw
    18 years ago

You can reduce your photos in Photobucket ( resize), but that means the photos will remain at the smaller size permanently.
    Also, a freeware program, Irfanview, can be downloaded and used to shrink photo size.

Here is a link that might be useful: Irfanview

• Herb
    18 years ago

Download either JPEG Optimizer or JPEGCompress. They are quite small programs, and each will compress a Jpeg file to the number of kilobytes you want - while at the same time showing what the picture will look like at that compression.

Click for the JPEG Optimizer site

• flowersandthings
    Original Author
    18 years ago