Return to the Garden Photo Gallery Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
A few flower closeups -

Posted by springa7 z5 MA (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 18, 05 at 17:59

A rose (not sure of the exact variety - it's the only large ornamental rose that survived the winter and is still growing)

Globe Thistle flower head -

Small orange lily of some type (can you tell that I'm not good with remembering the names of specific varieties?)

Large white Easter Lilies - this is the first year they have flowered profusely -

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: A few flower closeups -

I especially like the spiky effect of the thistle closeup..... looks like you could reach out and touch it. My belacamda are blooming too. :) You're in MA? How do your easter lilies do? I've heard they are tender? :)

o

flowersandthings - Now that I think about it, we actually got the Easter Lilies in a pot for easter 2004. They were blooming at the time, and my mother decided to try and transplant them into our garden. Since they were already blooming in April, they were dying back by June. We weren't sure whether they would survive the winter. In May of this year, they came back up, and they started to flower a week and a half ago.
Last winter was not too cold, and we got a lot of snow to insulate the ground. It's possible that they won't survive a colder or less snowy winter, so we have to enjoy them while we can!

o

The globe thistle is such a neat picture - reminds me of certain types of fireworks.

o

I especially like the shot of the Globe Thistle!

~Rosemarie

o

So maybe you don't remember their names, but you sure can photograph them! Great shots! Are you a professional photographer?

o

Gingers Garden - Hardly professional! I just take lots of pictures, most of which aren't nearly as good, and post the very few that look the best!

The little flowers on the Globe Thistle are mostly open now - I need to get a picture of that.

o

springa, I believe your unknown lily is a candy lily.

o