Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
darkling235

distillation of medical herbs

darkling235
15 years ago

I've been working with medicinal herbs for many years and have recently gotten deeper into trying to extract the active ingredients via distillation. Does anyone know how pure the extract can be and still be legal to sell without a pharmacology license? It hasn't been an issue before when I was either selling tinctures or raw herbs but this may be crossing lines into selling "drugs" so does anyone know the relevant US laws on the subject? Thankss

Comments (4)

• brendan_of_bonsai
    15 years ago

Welcome to Gardenweb, and happy birthday If you entered it right.

I don't think its a matter of purity, I think it depends what chemical and what strength.

If you leech out a controlled substance (like saffarole or cocaine) then no amount of impurity makes it legal. Also if you are making a claim to treat anything but self limiting symptoms then they will need a prescription to buy if from you and you will need to be a pharmacy to sell it to them.

Have you ever thought about going back to school for pharmacology? If you do you can actually learn how the active compounds work, and sell what ever you like to boot.

• janellelee
    15 years ago

Hi I also took a class on medicinal herbs and have gotton to the place where Im interested in distilling (or trying to distill) some herbs. Id like to keep in touch with you just to follow how it goes for you.
    Do you incorporated herbal teas along with the use of the oils?
    THanks Jan
    {{gwi:57856}}

• janellelee
    15 years ago

For a home distiller...
    How much of the herb would be needed to make an 8th of an oz?
    {{gwi:57856}}

• simplemary
    15 years ago