Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
franc_gw

Ginseng Leaves

franc
19 years ago

Im wondering if American Ginseng has some of the same properties as the roots maybe just in smaller amounts.

Comments (11)

• Herbalynn
    19 years ago

I have no personal experience with it, but in a websearch, there is alot of information. Maybe try re-doing the search with the Latin name and leaves. Heres the results of Ginseng leaves:

Here is a link that might be useful: google

• veeja11
    19 years ago

An old trick for getting good ginseng was to count the scabs
    i.e.every year the perennial leaves die back and leave a small stump or scab. Seven scabs or more was good ginseng (seven years old). You asked about American ginseng (Panax quinquefolium or Panax trifolium) I'm hoping the Chinese reference to Panax schinseng help you here.
    They consider the leaves to be gentle and cooling while the root is warming to hot. The adjectives are similar to physical effects of the herb.The Chinese import american ginseng ROOT as a calming cooling herb. I don't think they import the leaves of the American ginsing.
    They would not use the leaves and root at the same time because of the differing properties. They didn't go out and harvest just the leaves.

• franc
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks for the Info. it seems the leaves do have some value.
    Thanks,Vee about 20 years agoI dug up a wild ginseng root that was over 45yrs old.The bud scars started from the main root which wasn't really that large and went for about 25 yrs until a new root formed still married to the old root by the bud scars.The bud scars kind of told a story/history of the forest it was dug in.The whole root probably weighted less than 4oz.

• kevin_nsw
    19 years ago

I know you can eat Indian Ginseng leaves...I do every day fresh of the plant.

This has helped me to sleep a lot better after a car accident...and for a few other problems.

Have a look at this web page for info on Indian Ginseng.