Return to the Herbalism Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
herbal question

Posted by christina7 (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 15, 07 at 11:55

hi,
im just starting out on a herbal medicine course and already im confused. can someone explain to me what the abbreviations after the latin names mean, for example Anathemis nobilis (L) what does the (L) stand for. also is there any reason why plants should not be put into a sick room overnight.
many thanks in advance
happy days

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: herbal question

The "L" stands for Linnaeus, the botanist who first named the plant. It's good to specify the Latin name (Anthemis nobilis) to make sure you're referring to this specific plant, as there are something like a half-dozen different plants commonly referred to as chamomile. Using the "L" is not necessary.

Some people are allergic to A. nobilis and related plants, which would be a reason for susceptible people to avoid them.

o

thank you eric_oh thats helped me loads.
another question for you if you're up for it is, in lichen, what benefits would a fungus deive from its algal partner, what does this mean. i feel such a dummy but this is a completely new subject for me. thanks again

o

Yes... with some plants having several common names, I think they should always go by their latin names... no mistakes there, and it helps with confusion if the plant has a 'officinalis" in it's name. I don't know which medicinal path you are taking, the only thing I can think of to answer your second question is maybe lichen has half a chemical that will mate with another to form another chemical? Like hydrogen getting together with oxygen makes water? I don't have a specific on the fungi/algae partnership.

o

Is the lichen question part of your homework? If so, you really should be reading your material and finding the answers. Not being mean, but you will remember the things you search out yourself and will not remember the answers you are given.