Return to the Herbalism Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
lavender/catnip harvesting

Posted by inkofthebroken cntrl Tx - 8 (My Page) on
Sat, May 29, 04 at 14:58

I've just recently started working with herbs grown from my garden. Previously, I've only worked with store bought herbs, and after a rather bad batch, decided to grow my own. This is all well and good, and everything is flourishing, until I ran into a slight problem. I have no background in harvesting and handling fresh herbs. What do I cut? How should I store them? Specifically lavender and catnip. If you have any information pertaining to saving seeds and re-seeding from the plants themselves, that would be most welcome, too. I appreciate any information you have to give to me! Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: lavender/catnip harvesting

Catnip: Leaves and flowering tops should be harvested when young, in late summer when the plant is flowering, before the flowers turn brown. Dry for future use.

Lavender: For drying, pick flowers just as they open, along with some of the foliage, and hang in bunches upside down in a dark, airy room. Do not use excessive or prolonged heat if drying them artificially, as the oil is very volatile. Pick the leaves anytime for fresh use, or before flowering if drying. Small, woody black or brown oval seeds are enclosed in the tightly closed calyx.

o

the catnip will reseed itself freely if you let some of the flowering tops go when you harvest leaves. it transplants easily when its young (less than about 6 inches tall and before flowering), so you can put it where you want it when you find the new plants.

in my area, there is enough catnip that I never want for it, but you just have to see about your area.

o