Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cweathersby

What plants can I eat straight from the garden?

cweathersby
18 years ago

I'm looking for a list of plants that I can eat parts of, leaves, seeds, berries, etc, straight out of the garden with no harmful effects.

I would also like to know which herbs can be eaten raw and still give all of the benefits.

I've read a couple of herbal medicine books, but can't find anything that I am looking for.

For example, the other day I learned that you can eat Borage flowers. Does that have any beneficial effect, or is it just harmless?

Also an "herb lady" around my area told me that you could eat Smilax, the weed, in salads.

Are there any books or websites that have this information?

Thanks in advance,

Carrie

Comments (16)

• thorspippi
    18 years ago

I'm just a beginner, but this is my favorite site:
    Plants for a Future Database

It's home page:
    Plants for a Future Home page

• kfgesq
    18 years ago

I think you can eat all of them. Why not look at the "edible landscape" forum.

• marie_in_wa
    18 years ago

Keep in mind that whatever you plant, if you spray it with any sort of chemical, you will not just be able to eat it straight from the garden. (not that I would do that anyways - birds might have pooped on it!)

• thorspippi
    18 years ago

I think you can eat all of them

Yikes! Not everything! Oleander, for example.

• kfgesq
    18 years ago

well i8 was assuming that no one would spray their veggies herbs etc with toxic chemicals and I guess I wasn't thinking more than herbs and veggies and a few flowers. opps! that's why I recommended the edible landscape forum here.

• thorspippi
    18 years ago

I guess I wasn't thinking more than herbs and veggies and a few flowers

yeah, that occurred to me later. :-)

There isn't much traffic in the edible landscape forum, unfortunately. I don't know why. I've found it more helpful to combine the herbs, herbalism, veggies, fruits forums.

• Judy_B_ON