Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beth1_gw

Help... need your advice...

beth1
16 years ago

Hi,

I know that there are a lot of knowledgable herbalists here on this site and I'd like to ask your advice.

I recently found out that my blood sugar level was 239. I started watching my diet and walking 3 to 4 miles per day and drinking lots of water. After a month, I went back to my doctor and found that my blood sugar had dropped 72 points down to 167. Still not where it needs to be. My doctor is giving me two more months to get it down. A friend of mine suggested a liver cleanse (I've never done this before). Any advice that you can give me on liver cleansing and herbs to help further lower my blood sugar would be greatly appreciated.

Blessings,

Beth

Comments (27)

• Judy_B_ON
    16 years ago

Your fasting blood sugar should be under 100.

Your best bet is to watch your diet and exercise. These are proven successful in lowering blood sugar. If overweight, losing weight also helps.

Be cautious with 'cleanses'; most are laxatives or diuretics and can cause more problems then they help.

See link below for more tips.

Here is a link that might be useful: Prediabetes

• rusty_blackhaw
    16 years ago

Congratulations on making those lifestyle changes to get healthier.

The best thing you can do for your liver is to avoid drugs (herbal and pharmaceutical) unless absolutely necessary, and to limit drinking.

"Cleanses" sound like an appealing idea but do not improve organ function; they may be hazardous in some instances.

• cacye
    16 years ago

I am not sure how a liver cleanse will help your blood sugar, but here is how it goes:
    1.6 days before you do the cleanse, start drinking unfiltered apple juice. Knutson's organic is good. I usually do about 1/2 to 1 quart a day. The malic acid in the apple juice softens kidney,gallbladder, and liver stones.