Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lucy_gw

To Apollog, Patriot S. & Oaklief

lucy
15 years ago

I realize it's not about herbs, and did arise out of 'Big Pharma", but I'm very curious to know what you think of the Genome Project... is it inherently evil because of it's research origins?

Comments (14)

• apollog
    15 years ago

Why would I think it is inherently evil? I have no problems with trying to understand genetics.

Of course, how that information is used might not be good - for instance, people might be permanently discriminated against based on a genetic test that is done when when they are an infant. Ever see the movie GATTACA? Science fiction, to be sure, but it raises valid questions.

• lucy
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I totally agree with you (aaargh!) about the testing stuff - just glad I've just past the time anyone would care workwise though who knows what insce. co's could do with it in future!

• apollog
    15 years ago

I'm not an expert on the HGP, but if I recall correctly, the results are in the public domain. This lets anyone use the database. According to wikipedia, President Clinton established that the gene sequences discovered with public money could not be patented.

There is also an interesting project in Iceland that combines generations of health records and genealogy with molecular techniques - they've already identified a gene that can cause restless leg syndrome.

I think some of the hype regarding genomics is just that - the idea that we will be able to scan a person's DNA and determine exactly which medicine they should take is a long way off. Maybe someday. But I am not opposed to basic research that is likely to lead to valuable discoveries.

• brendan_of_bonsai
    15 years ago

There was a race between a publicly funded genome and a private one FYI.

• oakleif
    15 years ago