Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
orchidocd

neuromuscular, emg/ncs, passionflower ...

OrchidOCD
10 years ago

Hello All,

**I've cross-posted this from the Health forum, suspecting those on the Herbalism forum may have more insight into the efficacy of herbal remedies. Apologies for cross-posting.**

This is my first time posting to this forum, though a long-time GW member. I have a question for any who've used non-traditional treatments combined with conventional medicine. Apologies in advance if it seems a strange question.

I've got a neuromuscular issue that I've been trying to treat on my own for over a year, and have had enough success with a self-mixed blend of passionflower, ginko, etc that I've been able to manage my symptoms pretty well. But, as the symptoms have increased and now affect my safe driving ability, I finally decided I needed to get to the root of them. So, I went to see a neurologist. I'm now scheduled for a spinal MRI and EMG/NCS of both arms and both legs.

My question is, should I stop using my herbal remedy before those diagnostic tests, to ensure the tests reveal my unadulterated neuromuscular responses? Or would the GABA agonist properties of the herbal blend that I credit for it's effectiveness not really affect the diagnostic tests? I'm kind of hesitant to give up what's been helping me manage so far, but at the same time, knowing how uncomfortable EMG/NCS is (had to have one for carpal tunnel syndrome in the past) I also don't want to risk 'throwing' the test results and have to do them over later. Thoughts?

Comments (5)

• HerbDoctor
    10 years ago

Orchid:

I'm sorry to say that you've only been getting symptomatic relief from the use of the herbs. From what you've said, your condition has digressed to the point of over-riding the herbs' affectiveness. You should get off all those herbs at this point since they're not getting to the root of your condition.