Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wisteria23_gw

2 questions, advice appreciated.

wisteria23
15 years ago

Hello all,

Seemingly overnight, something attacked my thyme. It appears to be a spider & eggs maybe? My hubby insists it's an inch worm & droppings? We live in Phoenix, so the bugger enjoys 100+ degrees- I've searched day & night and cannot find any culprits. Whatever the web substance touches becomes brown, dry, & dead almost instantly. It attacked my oregano brutally, & is working on my sage, rosemary, and sweet basil. I hesitate to use chemical repellants since I've invested in organic plants, soil, and fertilizer. Both plants were well developed & lovely, 3 days later they were completely dead. A friend suggested I buy lady bugs?

Secondly, we have several betta fish in our home, & when we change the water my husband insists we should dump the old water in the herbs, nitrogen and what-not. Is there any truth in this? I apologize if I sound ignorant, I'm a 20 year old rookie :) Thanks again.

Here is a link that might be useful: thyme

Comments (4)

• rusty_blackhaw
    15 years ago

If your herbs are being attached by spider mites (tiny critters that can be seen best with a magnifying glass), you'll see foliage speckling, dying back and eventually showing webbing. It usually takes a lot longer than three days for plants to go from good health to "completely dead", so I wonder if there's something else going on.

If you conclude you have spider mites from looking at pictures in books or on the Internet (try a Google image search), you can use sprays of water to sweep the mites off the foliage (especially undersides of leaves) and use insecticidal soap to kill/discourage them. There are so-called organic miticides, but I haven't found them to work.

Fish tank water can be used to water plants once in a while, but I wouldn't make a weekly habit of it (herbs don't need or want a lot of nitrogenous feeding).