Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
duncable

An Herbalist's Library

duncable
15 years ago

Hello everyone! I've been gardening in general for a few years, but have recently become interested in herbs for health and beauty and have been trying to find good books on the subject.

There are so many out there, its overwhelming, and so I was wondering if you all could share your favorites with me? You know, the ones you couldn't live without, who are so well used that their bindings are falling apart. Maybe you've even had to buy a second copy, it was so worn!

I'm looking for books that list a good amount of herbs, and have pretty detailed descriptions of both how to grow them and how/where to use them or what to use them in (ie. salves/ointments, dry skin moisturizers, antiseptic, digestive aids, etc). I focus more on the beauty aspect than general health, but a book that lists all uses wouldn't be turned down!

Thanks for your help, and if there is a thread, or multiple threads, that have already been started regarding this, please just point me in the right direction! :)

Comments (6)

• rusty_blackhaw
    15 years ago

There've been a number of threads on the subject of books and other resources on herbalism, such as this one.

You can use the forum search function to locate other discussions.

• luckygal
    15 years ago

duncable, I don't have the time to check all those zillions of other threads to see if my fav book is listed so I'll add a link to show you the book. This is a book which I should replace because it is so worn and tattered but it's like an old friend so I'll just keep it! :)