Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
delidiva

Bamboo Palm leaf tips turning yellow brown

Tanya Kotze
11 years ago

Hi
Some of my bamboo palm's leaf tips are turning yellow brown and I'm not sure whether it is because of under watering, too much salt in the water or air (we're close to the ocean and the window next to the palm is usually open), the liquid fertilizer containing seaweed that I gave it or the stress from being transplanted (bought it about a month ago) The rest of the palm looks healthy. Any ideas would be appreciated !
Thanks

Comments (19)

• saleh14
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hi Tanyak

I am not an expert but I know some about Bamboo palm
    I think over-watering result in these yellow tips

maybe experts have another opinion :)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

Is there any fertilizer in the soil you used for repotting? What kind of soil? How did the roots look when you changed pots?

• cliff98
    11 years ago

Looks like over-watering to me too.

• tropicbreezent
    11 years ago

I've got several of them in different parts of the garden. One clump is in a low poorly drained spot and it has that yellowing too. It still survives (been there about 4 years now) but the leaves are small and it flowers prolifically. When I have time I intend to move it, just that's it such a big clump it'll be a big job. Meantime it just looks poorly but survives. So I'd agree it's more an overwatering/soggy soil problem.

• PRO
    The Ficus Wrangler
    11 years ago

Yea, that profuse flowering of a plant in a less than happy situation is a cool example of how sometimes plants will flower when they're in desperate straits - trying to spread their DNA before natural disaster brings them down. It would be interesting to know if any of the plants produced from those seeds would have an increased tolerance for soggy conditions.

• Tanya Kotze
    Original Author
    11 years ago