Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woebegonia

Philodendron Lovers - is this P. 'Pincushion'?

Woebegonia
11 years ago

I've been growing this for many years, picture is of a small reserve cutting. Never knew the name, from an old article in a defunct plant magazine (Plants Alive) there was a color photo of a hybrid small philodendron and I thihk this may be it.{{gwi:68520}}

Comments (15)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

On your larger older plant, do the leaves ever get any bigger?

• Woebegonia
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Very little, I meant to put a ruler with the plant when I took the picture but forgot. Right now the longest leaf is about 2-l/2", they never get much longer, the growth is always horizontal, slow growing. The plant was in an 8" pot but looked too overgrown, so I took a cutting and sent the rest to the big compost heap in the sky.

11 years ago

Interesting! This makes me curious how long it takes some Philos to get some significant size to the leaves and stems, if they have the potential to do so.

Your plant is so similar to one I have, at least the smallest cutting of it. Had I not broken the stem apart myself, I would never believe these are pieces of the same plant. When I got the mama, it had a very long leafless stem, which I broke into pieces. This is the result of the smallest piece of leafless stem I planted, about 9-10 months ago, the biggest leaf is about 3" long.

11 years ago

This is the mama, the growth tip of the same big stem. The leaves are way bigger, and a totally different shape. (Try to ignore the sunburned leaf in the middle...)

At the rate these things are growing, it could be 10 years until the little one looks like this.

Do you think any of this relates to your plant?

• Woebegonia
    Original Author
    11 years ago