Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nikkilynn_gw

Coffee in plants???

nikkilynn
17 years ago

Has anyone heard of using coffee or coffee grounds in there plants to help them with leaf shine or growth??

Comments (9)

• gabro14
    17 years ago

I remember reading someone on here actually puts cold coffee in her jade plants sometimes, and they have BEAUTIFUL blooms year after year. I can't remember what post that's from though...
    I would love to know the answer to that as well, and if it does help, how to do it and how often.
    Gabi

• nikkilynn
    Original Author
    17 years ago

I have seen it work miricles on flowering plants but i am not sure on like pothos and plants like that. I am very new to this and am learning so please be patient with me

• hawk307
    17 years ago

Hi everybody : I've used coffee grounds in my garden, along with fish heads . Of course, I buried them over the winter, I grew Zucinni 4 feet long and Tomatoes big as a dinner plate. I don't know about House Plants,although my grandmother put some coffee grounds in her potted plants.
    LOU

• jlynn
    17 years ago

I use coffee grounds and tea grounds both on houseplants if they need a little acidity-like my Norfolk pines. the grounds are also reportedly good to keep slugs away from roses. Seemed to work for me last year.

• babywatson
    17 years ago

My father used to throw the coffee grounds into his compost and use them in the plants. His plants (I'm talking outside) did beautifully. I have got into the habit of taking our coffee grounds outside and throwing them on our compost pile. It always worked for my dad!

• korina
    17 years ago