Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ahyom

Help i.d.these three, and some basic questions..

ahyom
11 years ago

Last night I dragged these in after someone had thrown them out. The bigger looks to have some root issues (soggy to the touch). It's also crammed with eggshells for fertilizer I presume, but is this a good idea or should I remove them? I have "all-purpose 24-8-16" fertilizer, will this work? They are all planted in pots with no drainage hole, shall I replant them into different pots or are they alright? I'm fairly new to keeping plants, any help is greatly appreciated!

There was also a fourth large Dracaena marginata with the same root issues. I didn't bother carrying that one up to my place because I figured it will eventually just die. But maybe there is a way to save it?

So here is the biggest one:

Comments (6)

• ahyom
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here's a close up of it's base. They feel like decaying wood, and have a spongey residue. What's going on?

• ahyom
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here is the second biggest trailing plant:

• ahyom
    Original Author
    11 years ago

And finally the smallest trailing one. For now it's leaning against the second plant until I find some support for it:

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

The first is a Dracaena fragrans AKA corn plant. The second is Epipremnum AKA Pothos. The third looks like a Philodendron of some kind, there are hundreds. Commonly discussed plants here. Why in the world would anyone discard these?

The D. marginata not pictured - you could just cut off whatever top part(s) you like and it should root that way. Unless it's gotten too cold, no reason to expect it to not do well especially if it looks as good as these plants.