Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Dying Diffenbachia

Posted by alynrtiedtke none (My Page) on
Wed, Jan 5, 11 at 17:42

I bought this diffenbachia summer just gone in my local garden store and it was beautiful.

However I think at some point I have overwatered it as the leaves started browining on the edges and wilting. Also as the weather has got colder the leaves have drooped and basically started to die.

I have read up on diffs not liking cold temps and it has been down to about 12 degrees (C) in the house this winter. There is nobody in during the day so the heating will be off.

Anyway, is there any way i can recover this plant. I have held off watering it as the soil was soaked. The roots appear fine though when i inspected them last week.
Do i need to cut the plant back ???

It is located on a bathroom windowsill near a frosted window which gets light daily.

I've attached some photos also.

P.S. Im a novice here and know next to nothing about houseplants, so be gentle.

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/5856/dscf0525y.jpg
http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/2502/dscf0526i.jpg
http://img695.imageshack.us/img695/8654/dscf0527t.jpg
http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/8117/dscf0528v.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Dying Diffenbachia

12C or 56F, think that's correct, is pretty chilly, but won't kill a Dieff as long as soil isn't kept continuously wet.

I'd cut off yellow/dead leaves. Also, let soil dry a between waterings.
Does the pot have drainage? If not, your Dieff needs to go into a container that does.

Feel the main trunk. Is it soft or firm? A healthy Dieff should have nice, firm trunk, otherwise the plant was over-watered to the point of rot.

Its leaves w/o yellow look healthy enough. You said the window was frosted. Do you have a non-frosted window? Dieffs need, at a minium, very bright light.

A word of caution. The sap is toxic. Be careful when working on a Dieff. Wear gloves or wash hands after handling. Toni

o